Remote Control Buttons

Relax in southern comfort on the east bank of the Mississippi. You're just around the corner from Beale Street and Sun Records. Watch the ducks, throw back a few and tell us what's on your mind.
Post Reply
Speedskater
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:14 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Contact:

Remote Control Buttons

Post by Speedskater » Tue Jan 01, 2019 1:51 pm

Is there any easy way to rejuvenate remote control buttons?
Kevin

User avatar
mediatechnology
Posts: 3656
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 2:34 pm
Location: Oak Cliff, Texas
Contact:

Re: Remote Control Buttons

Post by mediatechnology » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:34 pm

Are these the ones that use the soft rubber and conductive carbon?

I've had mine get dirty and was able to clean them with a Q-tip and a little bit of Fantastik.

I recall JR writing about that in his Entropy thread.
https://ka-electronics.com

SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS should advance FREEDOM OF SPEECH. Yet too many Americans have seen their accounts suspended, banned, or fraudulently reported for unclear “violations” of user policies.
No matter your views, if you suspect political bias caused such an action to be taken against you, share your story with President Trump.

White House Tech Censorship Reporting Link: https://whitehouse.typeform.com/to/Jti9QH

User avatar
JR.
Posts: 2683
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Remote Control Buttons

Post by JR. » Tue Jan 01, 2019 2:35 pm

If you are talking about hand held TV remotes, oil from our hands gets on the PCB corrupting the conductive rubber switch contact closures. A Q tip and some rubbing alcohol can usually get it clean and working again.

JR

Speedskater
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:14 am
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: Remote Control Buttons

Post by Speedskater » Wed Jan 02, 2019 1:14 pm

Once again, JR comes to the rescue!
It worked. Thanks.
The hard part was getting the case open.
Kevin

User avatar
JR.
Posts: 2683
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Remote Control Buttons

Post by JR. » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:53 pm

yup, been there done that... :lol:

Lately I get some low battery warnings, while open circuit batteries are OK. I need to rig a way to test batteries under load. I rotate the batteries in place, in case it is just a dirty contact.

JR

Post Reply