Simple Audio Splitter with NE5534

Where we discuss new analog design ideas for Pro Audio and modern spins on vintage ones.
b1gtuna

Simple Audio Splitter with NE5534

Post by b1gtuna »

Hello everyone, first and foremost, I am glad to be part of this forum. And this is my first post!

I have multiple receivers (headphones, speakers etc). I generally don't like plugging them in and out, so I am working on this amplified audio splitter.
Please keep in mind that I have no knowledge of prior audio electrical engineering, so everything I have done could be flat-out wrong!

I designed the PCB using Altium Circuit Maker. If you are using Circuit Maker, and would like to take a look at my design, please let me know.
I would like to post a direct link to the project, but I haven't figured out how to do that yet. For others, I have attached a PDF file of schematic, and the layout.

I ordered the PCB from OSHPark. And populated the parts myself at home. Here is the link to my project - https://oshpark.com/shared_projects/V7Yweifv

Then I connected +12V and -12V power from my old computer power supply. I checked the voltage. They seem pretty good at ~+-12v.

And then there is no sound!! I noticed it gets fairly hot to touch when I plug in the audio jack from my iPod. Until I plug it in, NE5534 remains pretty cold.

I need to look at the datasheet of NE5534 again and check my work. In the mean time, can anyone take a look at my design, and see if there is anything obviously wrong?
I just need some sort of audio output. At the moment, quality is not my concern.

Thank you!
rsz_20150808_011450.jpg
rsz_20150808_011450.jpg (390.34 KiB) Viewed 21784 times
rsz_20150808_235304.jpg
rsz_20150808_235304.jpg (370.05 KiB) Viewed 21782 times
AudioSplitter.PDF
(220.7 KiB) Downloaded 979 times
mediatechnology

Re: Simple Audio Splitter with NE5534

Post by mediatechnology »

Thanks for joining us. The board looks nice.